Executive Board

Aaron Stebner


Assistant Professor Aaron Stebner began working in manufacturing in 1995 as a summer intern for the Electric Device Corporation (Canfield, OH). Over a couple of years, he worked his way up to become a full-time mechanical engineer responsible for design and manufacturing of automation solutions for assembling, testing and calibrating circuit breakers of all sizes. After earning a master’s degree at the University of Akron and working as a graduate student research fellow at NASA Glenn Research Center, his next role in manufacturing was as an R&D scientist for Telezygology (TZ, Inc.) in Chicago. There, Aaron worked under Sigurd Nelson to establish an R&D lab and supply chains to support manufacturing of early “Internet of Things” technologies, especially wirelessly networked, shape memory alloy–driven locking and latching mechanisms. Aaron then went on to get a PhD at Northwestern and completed postdoctoral work at the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories of California Institute of Technology (GALCIT), where he specialized in advanced characterization and modeling of the mechanics of metals. His role as the director of ADAPT is the culmination of these academic and industry experiences, unifying his knowledge of materials mechanics, microstructures and processing with his engineering experiences in automation and design for manufacturing.

Heidi Hostetter

Industry Board Chair

Heidi Hostetter, Vice President of Faustson Tool, has over 20 years of experience in technical sales, marketing and operations. Her expertise spans many different industries and commodities, although, for more than a decade now, her business development interests have remained focused on mechanical commodities and the support/emerging manufacturing technologies that accompany this particular industry. She has deep roots with many of the nation’s leading OEMs as well as within academia and the community. Career highlights include 2016 Manufacturer Innovation Award, 2014 Ball Platinum Supplier of the Year, White House Supply Chain roundtable discussion in 2015, 2014 Floyd King Entrepreneurial Spirit Award, 2000 Datex-Omeda Sales Rep of the Year, and 1999 top-performing sales rep for Utah and Colorado. Heidi is a board member for Loveland Creator Space and co-chair of the MMP Youth Taskforce. She serves on various committees, including the MMP Legislative and Regulatory committee and the OEDIT AIA Advanced Subcommittee, among others.

Branden Kappes

Operations Director

Branden Kappes is a research assistant professor in the ADAPT Center at Colorado School of Mines. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Materials Science from the University of Utah in alloy development and characterization. In 2008, he completed his PhD at Colorado School of Mines in Computational Materials Science, where he studied grain boundary properties in aluminum and aluminum alloys. Since that time, his research interests have broadened to include graphene and other low-dimensional materials, lithium ion batteries, and computational techniques for high-throughput examination of materials data.


Craig Brice

Technical Advisor

Craig Brice is a Research Scientist Senior Staff at Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company Advanced Technology Center in Littleton, Colorado. He has over 18 years’ experience in research and development of metallic additive manufacturing processes and materials. He currently leads multiple internal and collaborative research projects in AM process and materials development. Prior to his current position, Craig worked for Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company in their Skunk Works division in Fort Worth, Texas, and for NASA at the Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia. Craig has focused on alloy development for AM processes, in situ process monitoring and controls, and process qualification. He holds a BS in Metallurgical Engineering from Missouri University of Science and Technology and an MS in Materials Science and Engineering from The Ohio State University.